I Liked the Facebook Movie (It’s 4am; That’s the Best I Can Do)

3 Oct

I love Facebook, but I think I loved “The Social Network” even more.  If I’m going to pay for a movie, I don’t want to see something that’s just decent enough to find mildly enjoyable (cough…cough…”Takers”…cough…cough), I want something that in some way changes life…at least for a few hours after I leave the theater.  This is exactly what happened after I saw “The Social Network”.

In discussing the movie, I’m glad I don’t have to worry about spoiling everything (he invents Facebook…SURPRISE!), so, I can just get to the point and use examples from the film with no need for silly announcements like “Spoiler Elert!” and typing things in white so you can only see it if you highlight it.

“The Social Network” is more than just “Revenge of the Nerds: I Can Now Stalk the Hot Girls from the Comfort of My Computer,” though founder Mark Zuckerberg does indeed stalk the hot girls from the comfort of his computer (Google “Facesmash,” it’s about a kid who has big dreams to do something great with his life, but makes some mistakes when it comes to his personal relationships along the way.

Despite the lies I’ve been telling people for the past few years (well, not lies…more like partial truths) I really don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.  I kinda know the direction I want it to take, but at most, all I know is that I’m a kid who has big dreams and wants to do something great within the world of television and journalism (I think).

The movie was a reassurance that the seemingly impossible can indeed happen.  Yes, Zuckerberg was an extremely intelligent college sophomore that not only understood the computer code to create Facebook, but also understood the value of his idea and (with help) figured out how to make it not only profitable for himself, but alluring and extremely addicting to the rest of the world.

So how do I do that with…whatever the hell it is that I want to do?  Well, like Zuckerberg, I guess I’ll try to do a lot of things that all basically relate to television and journalism.  I feel like a lot of success is trial and error, working at everything until something sticks (of course all the while honing skills so that the same mistake isn’t made twice and that I’m actually getting something out of each venture/project/attempted career move).  The end goal (for me) with this trial and error is both to narrow down what I want to be/do and to become extremely successful at it.

This blogging thing (hey, he did that in the movie too!  Gosh, look at the similarities…) I guess is one of those trials, though I don’t expect this one to stick…if it made me some money, great, but this is more so one of those “hone your skills” deals.

I feel like I’m rambling now and am starting to wonder who (if anyone) has read this far into me talking about myself and my vague life ambitions, so it’s time to wrap things up.

The last (and possibly most important) thing I learned from “The Social Network” is don’t step too hard on your friends during your climb to the top.  It kinda really sucks that Zuckerburg was sued for $600 million by his (former) best friend and co-founder of Facebook, Eduardo Saverin because he cheated him out of his share of the company (I got this from the movie, but I’ll do more research on what really happened).  No amount of money, fame, power, or success is worth completely destroying your relationships with the people who actually know you and genuinely like for who you are…not what you can do for them.

Ok, it’s 4am and I’ve written 634 words.  Time for to end this…

Moral of the/my story:

Think Big

Do Good

Be Happy

Leave a comment